Section 25 > LTMCD 2548 Retrofit < LTM

LTMCD 2548 Retrofit; front cover detail
LTMCD 2548 Retrofit; front cover detail



Catalogue number

LTMCD 2548

Release date

13 September 2010


1. The Process
2. Looking From a Hilltop
3. Beating Heart
4. Desert
5. Uberhymn
6. Garageland
7. Dirty Disco
8. Girls Don't Count
9. New Horizon
10. Wretch
11. Another Hilltop (Stephen Morris Mix)


To follow


Read Paul Pledger's review on

- -

LTM are delighted to present the seventh studio album from cult Factory Records group Section 25, titled Retrofit.

Formed in Blackpool (UK) by brothers Larry and Vin Cassidy in 1978, the band were initially mentored by Joy Division, and went on to record four albums with Factory Records. The first of these, Always Now, offered Krautrock and psychedelia produced by Martin 'Zero' Hannett. Their third, From The Hip, produced in 1984 by Bernard Sumner of New Order, explored techno and electronica, and spawned the oft-sampled club hit Looking From A Hilltop. Now recognised as a leading genre band, three Section 25 tracks were included in the recent Warners box set Factory Records: Communications 1978-1992, with From The Hip lauded as one of 1000 albums to hear before you die by The Guardian newspaper.

After a decade apart, Section 25 released Part-Primitiv in 2007 and Nature + Degree in 2009, as well as playing a string of powerful live shows across Europe and America. Retrofit was recorded before the untimely death of Larry Cassidy in February 2010, and sees the group revisit 10 key tracks from their estimable back catalogue, remade and remodelled using new technology, and closing with a compelling remix of Looking From A Hilltop by New Order member Stephen Morris. Retrofit also includes an exclusive brand new track, Uberhymn.

In 2010 Section 25 comprise Vin Cassidy, Beth Cassidy, Stuart Hill and Steve Stringer. Live shows supporting Retrofit will see the group perform From the Hip in its entirety for the first time, as well as newer tracks.

Check out the trailer on YouTube.