Ike Yard > 1980-82 Collected

Ike Yard - Ike Yard 1980-82 Collected (Acute); front cover detail
Ike Yard - Ike Yard 1980-82 Collected (Acute); front cover detail

Release date



CD, Download

Catalogue number

ACT008 CD (Acute)


1. Night After Night
2. Sense Of Male
3. Infra Ton
4. Whistler
5. Cherish
6. Motiv
7. M Kurtz
8. Loss
9. NCR
10. Kino
11. Cherish 8
12. Half A God
13. Nocturne
14. 20
15. War Strong
16. We Are One
17. Dancing And Slaving
18. Wolfen

- -

from acuterecords.com:

Influenced by their punk upbringing, avant-garde schooling, and no wave surroundings in early 80s NYC, Ike Yard managed to create a new sound. By tapping into equal parts the krautrock experimentation of Can, the Neue Deutsche Welle of DAF and the UK post-punk dub of PiL and Joy Division they created sounds and songs unique enough to catch the attention of Factory Records, who made them their first American signing.

But what really set Ike Yard apart were their cutting edge techniques. The mixing board and effects processors were as important as the bass, synth or occasional guitar, giving Ike Yard an aggressive and propulsive sound, where drum machines beat against the sound of scrap metal and angular guitar slashes darted through arpeggiated synth patterns.

Acute Records release of "1980-82-Collected" collects, for the first time, Ike Yard's two releases (their Factory LP and an EP for Les Disques du Crépuscule) plus several previously unreleased tracks.