Anna Domino > LTMCD 2397 Anna Domino < Fact 165 Anna Domino

LTMCD 2397 Anna Domino; front cover detail
LTMCD 2397 Anna Domino; front cover detail

Release date

16 February 2004


Koo Koo
My Man
The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
Chosen Ones
Not Right Now
Take That
Sixteen Tons
Half Of Myself
Summer (Arthur Baker remix)
15 Zanna

Credits (from the original LP)

All songs written by Anna Domino except "The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game*" by W. Robinson
Produced + arranged by Alan Rankine
"Rythm", "Drunk" + Koo Koo" produced + mixed by Marc Moulin. "My Man" produced + arranged by Anna Domino + Michel Delory + mixed by Alan Rankine
Alan Rankine, keyboards, guitars, bass + rhythms program
Anna Domino, voices, incidental keyboards, guitars + rhythms
Marc Moulin, keyboards + programming on "Drunk" + "Koo Koo"
Steven Brown, clarinet on 'rythm'
Dan Lacksman, fairlight program on "Rythm"
Michel Delory, guitar on "My Man"
Rudy Sybert, electric bass on "My Man"
Recorded at Katy, ICP, Synsound & Kitsch studios
Roger Howorth, Dan Lacksman, Gilbert Lederman, Christian Ramon, Jean Trenchant, Thierry Van Roy

This is for my brother Alan, my mother + father. Thanks to Rudy + all at#6 Delhasse. Photo by Madoka.

All selections published by "Het gerucht except * by Jobete music
(P) 1986 Les Disques Du Crépescule, TWI 600 33 1/3 rpm


"A state of resigned half-awareness lifts these uncensored confessionals beyond the precipice. This is the sound of dusk, seasons, sublime elegance and supernatural light" (NME, 9/86)

- -

From the LTM website: "After relocating from New York to Brussels in 1985, Anna Domino cut this magical album with the aid of two top flight producers, Alan Rankine (Associates) and Marc Moulin (Telex). The record proved a major independent success, thanks largely to Anna's confessional lyrics and reflective vocals, combined with sophisticated songs and sharp rhythmic styles. In particular check out Not Right Now, the crystalline, proto trip-hop of Caught and the near-hit singles Rhythm, Summer and Take That. The album also includes a smart cover of the Smokey Robinson/Miracles classic Hunter Gets Captured by the Game. Comparisons have ranged from Suzanne Vega to Julee Cruise. The five bonus cuts include all the non-album tracks from the 1984 ep 'Rhythm', plus the outstanding single remix of Summer by legendary New York producer Arthur Baker and also Zanna, a collaboration with onetime Revolting Cock Luc van Acker. The CD has been remastered from the original tapes, runs for 70 minutes, and retains the evocative sleeve painting by Benoit Hennebert. The booklet boasts detailed sleevenotes."

The following is an extract from Les Disques Du Crépescule promotional booklet, designed by Hennebert, 1990: "Co-produced by Alan Rankine and Marc Moulin, Anna's eponymous debut proved a huge independent success and rightly so with tracks of the calibre of Rythm, Take That and the breezy single Summer included. A sensual blend of blues, soul, latin, and funk, Anna Domino lays down a cool urban beat that's equally infectious any time, any place."